Employees of the Year

At SCVUSD35 we would like to acknowledge our teachers, support staff, and administrators, that have consistently gone above and beyond every day. Thanks for making our district great!

Teachers of the Year

Monica Salas

Mountain View

Monica Salas - Kindergarten

  • Caring, Motivating
  • Approachable team leader
  • Patient, calm, nurturing
  • Students' faces light up when they see her
Jessica Valencia-Kuhm

San Cayetano

Jessica Valencia-Kuhm - Physical Education

  • Team player
  • Detail oriented
  • Postive attitude
  • Dedicated
Melissa Jauregui

Calabasas K-8 - Santa Cruz County Teacher of the Year

Melissa Jauregi - 5th Grade

  • Not afraid to take calculated risks
  • Positively pushes students to be successful independent learners
Kelsey Leaf

Coatimundi Middle

Kelsey Leaf - Band

  • Dedicated
  • Advocates for students in need
  • Empathetic and compassionate
Nagesh Kumar

Rio Rico High School - SCVUSD35 Teacher of the Year

Nagesh Kumar - Honors Pre-Calculus/AP Calculus

  • Builds positive relationships with students
  • Celebrated icon - rock star among students, yet is
  • Humble and exceptional

Mr. Kumar, the Rock Star

Site Support Staff of the Year

Roxanne Gonzalez

Mountain View

Roxanne Gonzalez - Parent Liaison

  • Positive Attitude
  • Cheerful, welcoming
  • Strong Work ethic
Irma Orozco

San Cayentano

Irma Orozco - Attendance Clerk

  • Aware of every child's story
  • Builds positive relationships
  • Compassionate, caring
Irma Velez

Calabasas K-8

SCVUSD35 Support Staff Person of the Year

Irma Velez - Parent Liaison

  • Ensures those in need receive food and clothing
  • Ensures parents help students be their best
  • Knows the importance of first impressions; always puts "best foot forward" in marketing the school
Yara Sanchez

Coatimundi Middle

Yara Sanchez - Parent Liaison

  • Leader
  • Extraordinary work ethic, dependability, energy, accountability, and caring
Lucia Manzo

Rio Rico High School

Lucia Manzo - Secretary to Assistant Principals

  • Team Player
  • Detail Oriented
  • Positive attitude
  • Dedicated

Administrator of the Year

Shelly Vrough

Rio Rico High School

Shelly Vroegh

  • Heart and soul of school
  • Excellent instructional leader
  • Demonstrates energy, passion, support, perseverance, and kindness to staff, students, and parents
  • Systematically changed culture on campus making it fun and enjoyable to teach
  • Inspires all

In her own words:


Graduate Student